If you or your children have experienced domestic violence, do not hesitate to take action. Call Chris Meyer Law Firm, PLLC at (281) 845-2472 to meet with our team as soon as possible.
Helping Victims of Domestic Violence Get Protection Through Restraining Orders in Fort Bend County, Harris County and contiguous counties during the Coronavirus.
Domestic violence should always be taken very seriously, especially during the Coronavirus. If a partner has been verbally or physically abusive to you or your children then you need to get out of the house immediately. Even if you are willing to forgive your partner for their actions, you need to make someone else aware of the situation and consult with a domestic violence attorney. Domestic violence is serious and far too many people try to ignore or forgive the problem, which often results in more severe and frequent instances of abuse, especially during the quarantines.
Contact our domestic violence law firm once you are in a safe place. We can discuss your options with you and tell you about what will happen to your partner should you choose to get divorced and/or file charges against them.
What is Domestic Violence & How Can I Protect Myself during the Coronavirus?
Domestic violence is a rampant problem in America, and one of the major issues is that victims do not always come forward and press charges. Divorce courts are very sympathetic to spouses who were victims of abuse and always put their needs first when it can be proven that abuse occurred. One of the first things you should do with your domestic violence attorney is file for a temporary restraining order and make sure that you and your children have a safe place to stay.
Domestic violence involves more than just physical harm. It can also involve:
The threat of violence
Making threatening phone calls or emails
Trespassing on someone else’s property to get to a spouse
Some attorneys will advise you to stay in your home for as long as possible as it could be a long time before you can return if you leave and file for a divorce. This may be true in some cases, but your safety should always come first. We can fight to get you back in your home, but we can’t protect you from violence if you stay where an abusive spouse can get to you.
What is the Statute of Limitations on Domestic Violence in Texas?
Since not every domestic violence crime is reported immediately, the state of Texas has adopted a statute of limitations to allow for additional time for a victim to come forward. The amount of time depends on the severity of the crime itself. Domestic assault is considered a misdemeanor thus the time-frame is approximately 2 years. In addition, if the violence is continuous, then the charge would be considered a felony and the statute would be extended up to 3 years.
What are Temporary & Long-Term Restraining Orders in Texas?
If you have been the victim of domestic violence, or fear that you may become one, a restraining order may be necessary to protect yourself.
A temporary restraining order can be ordered until your court case is held so that nothing will happen to you prior to your hearing.
A long-term restraining order may be awarded based on the circumstances and evidence presented to the court.
How Do I Proceed To Defend Myself Against Domestic Abuse?
People do care about what happens to you, and that includes the team at Chris Meyer Law Firm, PLLC. Our team is very close and works together to give our clients the support and protection they need during this difficult time. Contact our Houston Area domestic violence lawyer today and tell us more about your situation.